Recognition Programs

The Broadway Education Alliance was instrumental in developing the National High School Musical Theatre Awards® (aka The Jimmy Awards®), now run by the Broadway League Foundation. And was also the lead producer of the Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance (previously the Gershwin Awards).

The Roger Rees Awards is an annual award program designed to recognize emerging young talent and celebrate high school musical theatre programs. It serves as the Greater New York Chapter of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards® (MHSMTA), aka The Jimmy Awards®, a national celebration of outstanding achievement for aspiring student performers – which the Broadway Education Alliance co-founded and managed from 2009-2017.

The Broadway Education Alliance is the fiscal sponsor of The Roger Rees Awards and is proud to work in partnership with Disney Theatrical Group and Camp Broadway LLC who produce the annual talent contest that culminates in the selection of the regional Best Actress and Best Actor in a high school production. Public and private schools located in New York’s five boroughs, as well as Long Island, Orange County, Rockland County, and Westchester County are eligible to submit their officially licensed high school production into the program.

This program, originally named The Gershwin Awards, was established in 2011 by Camp Broadway LLC. It was renamed in 2016 to celebrate the exceptional life and career-long artistic excellence of Broadway’s beloved actor, Roger Rees.